Hôtel d’Arlatan - 26, rue du Sauvage - BP 109 - 13631 Arles - tel : +33 (0)4 90 93 56 66 - fax : +33 (0)4 90 49 68 45 - email : hotel-arlatan@wanadoo.fr
The Hotel d’Arlatan: in a mediaeval private mansion, a charming hotel, in Provence, in Arles, the gateway to Camargue!


It’s in the 12th century that the name of the Counts of Arlatan appears for the first time in the town archives of Arles.
In 1448, Jean d' Arlatan, who was intendant of the King Rene, killed the monster that was devastating the fields of kermes oak where vermilion was collected. As a result, the knight received the title of Count of Arlatan of Beaumont and the privilege of the vermilion harvest. Furthermore, to honor him, King Rene entrusted Jean d’Arlatan with the monitoring of the excavations aiming to find the relics of the saint Maries, lost since the 5th century.
At the beginning of the 16th century, the residence of the Arlatan family underwent transformations, perhaps to prepare for the reception, in 1516, of Queen Claude, wife of King Francis 1st, on his way for a pilgrimage.
In the 19th century, the name of Arlatan disappeared completely, for lack of a male descendant, and the mansion was yielded to a notary. In 1920 part of the old house was bought to become a hotel. For four generations the hotel has belonged to the same family, and has systematically adapted to the requests of comfort and modernity of travelers coming from all over the world.